RSS

CANCER , HOW ?

12 Oct

Cancer Poem

I wrote this for my mom. She was diagnosed with cervical cancer on June 1, 2006. I was writing this as impromptu poetry in a class at school. I gave her this poem for Christmas.–This is Sadie’s mom. She is a brilliant young lady. She is a tough nut to crack when it comes to how she feels, so I am honored that she was able to convey her feelings in writing. I beat cervical cancer. This is the best Christmas present she could have ever given me and I thank God every day that I’m still here for my children.

Cancer, How

© Sadie Troutman
Why, how, what?
Are the things I asked?
As my tears,
Fell against the cold, clear glass.
I don’t want to hear it,
Make it go away.
They’re lying mamma,
This can’t be true.
Why did this have to happen to you?
They say they have the cure,
And they tell me they are sure.
How do I believe it, I’m just a little girl.
They bring you through the door.
Why so many cords.
Maybe they fixed you, maybe there is more?
I want them to be done, they have had their fun.
You open your eyes, it’s my biggest surprise.
You mumble you love me,
And I start to crumble.
As I push you through the door in the big chair with wheels.
I know how it feels,
To remember something so terribly real.



Source: Cancer, How, Cancer Poem http://www.bestteenpoems.com/poem/cancer-how#ixzz1aXkFDHCk 
Best Teen Poems 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 12, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

