RSS

ALANNA’S EYES

12 Oct

Daughter Death Poem

This poem is in honor of my daughter Alanna that passed away at age 1 in March of 2007! She was born 2 months early with very underdeveloped lungs. She was very sick and spent most of her life in the hospital. I spent a lot of the time wondering how she had the will to life and keep going. But then I realized that maybe it was the way that she saw me keeping on and caring for her. She was my world my life and this poem is the way that I believe she saw me to keep on living for as long as she did.

Alanna’s Eyes

Through Alanna’s eyes I am smart,
I am wise, I am comfort, I am love. 
Through Alanna’s eyes I am strong, I am independent, I am whole.
Through Alanna’s eyes I walk tall, I pray, I fight.
Through Alanna’s eyes I have the ability to embrace life
And what it throws my way.
Through Alanna’s eyes I have the courage to stand alone. 
I live, I love, I stand on my own.
I live today and keep with me the image she had.
To proceed and carry on through Alanna’s eyes.



Source: Alanna’s Eyes, Daughter Death Poem http://www.familyfriendpoems.com/poem/alannas-eyes#ixzz1aXlTdsOy 
Family Friend Poems 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 12, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

